The Late-Night Post: Entry 8 – Pet Therapy

I was still depressed and on the stage of forgetting and letting my anger fade last year.

I felt empty to cut it short.

But a blessing came to my life. I had a baby.

I named her Tomo-chan. She was a shih tzu.

image

A month-old Tomo

When she came, my heart was filled with happiness.

Therapy dogs truly cure sadness.

My sibs and I always played with her. We spoiled her. She even slept beside us. She welcomed us whenever we came home. She’s family.

image

Tomo-chan!

I always looked forward to going home for the first time because I knew someone was waiting for me for the first time.

image

Going to the vet!

I was very happy and content with her by my side. We really loved her and she loved us back.

image

Four-month old Tomo

But one day, everything crumbled.

She had a shot for deworming. She became very weak. She never ate everything. We even force-fed her.

I became sad again. I became weak. I wanted to stay by her side however I had to go to school and live in the dormitory.

She was confined in a local vet.

I prayed that she would survive.

But unfortunately, she passed away. My baby passed away.

When the news came via text, I cried for days. I hardly eat anything. My dorm mates were trying to cheer me up. If only they would revive Tomo, my spirits would lift up.

I was still hoping that it was a prank. Still hoped that if it were true, I wished I stayed by her side until her final moments. I regretted not staying by her side.

image

A week after she passed away, I engrossed myself with our thesis.

But I never forgot her.

I still miss my baby.

Leave a Reply

